Reflection: the other side of the coin…

12314358_10205235077023151_6272819621775526215_oHere I am, with only one week to finish my adventure- 9 months EVS in Russia.
During my reflection about this time I found that we (me and Sarah) always write how our volunteer life is amazing, full of great experience and funny moments. Unfortunately this is only one side of the coin. The other side is a little bit different.
During my 9 months abroad I missed a lot of important moments from my “ordinary” Polish life:
my mom’s 50th birthday, the wedding of a friend, sister’s engagement, my friends problems with work and theirs sad moments.
Sometimes I needed help or support: when I was sick*, sad, lonely… but because of 6 hours time change between Poland and Krasnoyarsk my friends and family was not able to contact with me.
Unfortunately this other side of the coin is pretty dark and negative. Nevertheless do not overwhelm with this bad impression because it is a small part from something much bigger, brighter and positive.
I gain unforgettable moments, and met amazing people. I did unusual work which I hope will be useful in my future career. I improve both Russian and English language skills. I learned how to work in multicultural team, which to be honest made me more tolerant. Especially when I realized than sometimes people from other countries have different priories.
Finally I made my dreams come true-> I had always wanted to live in another country.

In the end I would like to share with my “golden” thought:
If you never try you will never known…. But it is always worth to try!

*My health problems in Russia are brand new story. I guess health care in Russia is pretty normal…. unfortunately only for Russians. In far Siberia public health is completely not prepared for foreigners. Nobody really knows what to do with you and how to deal with a problem that public health is free of costs but you want to pay for it (with my EVS health police I have to pay first and collect all documents, then they will reimbursement me).  Sounds ridiculous but when you have been sick for 7 months you become quite desperate.
To get into a hospital you either have to be dying or be already dead.
There is no problem to go to a private doctor. You pay and go to the fancy clinic. Doctors are nice and polite but speak only Russian, so it is better to go for an appointment with a native friend who will translate you all medical details.
I was unable to find private hospital in Krasnoyarsk.


Refleksja: druga strona medalu

Zawsze piszemy z Sarą jakie nasze życie wolontariusza jest ciekawe, pełne przygód i ciekawych doświadczeń. Niestety jest też druga strona medalu, która wygląda nieco inaczej.
Podczas mojego 9 miesięcznego życia za granicą ominęłam wiele ważnych momentów ze swojego „normalnego” życia w Polsce: 50 urodziny mamy, ślub znajomego, zaręczyny siostry, problemy w pracy kolegi.
Niekiedy to ja potrzebowałam pomocy: kiedy byłam chora*, smutna, samotna ponieważ przez 6 godzinną zmianę czasu pomiędzy Polską i Krasnojarskiem moi znajomi byli niedostępni.
Niestety ta druga strona medalu jest troszkę mroczna i negatywna. Jednakże nie dajcie się przygnieść temu odczuciu, ponieważ jest to tylko mała część z czegoś niesamowitego i pozytywnego.
Zyskałam niesamowite doświadczenie i poznałam wspaniałych ludzi. Pracowałam w międzynarodowym zespole, przez co (muszę się przyznać) nauczyłam się być bardziej tolerancyjna. Na pewno opanowałam całkiem dobrze rosyjski i sporo podciągnełam angielski w mowie i piśmie. Robiłam rzeczy z którymi dotychczas nie miałam doczynienia, a które mam nadzieję przydadzą się w mojej przyszłej karierze zawodowej.
No i spełniłam swoje marzenie-> zawsze chciałam pożyć w drugim kraju.
Wierzę że te 9 miesięcy programu pozytywnie wpłyną no moją przyszłość.

Na koniec chciałabym się z wami podzielić złotą myślą:
Jeśli nie spróbujesz to nigdy nie dowiesz się czy było warto…. A na pewno warto spróbować!

*Moje problem zdrowotne to całkowicie nowa historia. Sądzę że służba zdrowia działa całkiem sprawnie…. Niestety tylko dla Rosjan. W dalekiej Syberi nikt nie jest przygotowany na przyjęcie obcokrajowca. Nikt nie ma pomysłu jak poradzić sobie z faktem że służba publiczna jest bezpłatna a ty chcesz za nią zapłacić (moja polisa zdrowotna z EVS działa na zasadzie że ja najpierw płace za wszystko z własniej kieszeni, zbieram dokumentacje medyczną, a oni potem dają zwrot kosztów).
Brzmi zabawnie? Uwierzcie mi że kiedy człowiek choruje przez 7 miesięcy zaczyna być zdesperowany.
żeby być przyjętym do szpitala trzeba albo być umierającym albo już umrzeć.
Nie ma natomiast problemu z prywatnymi lekarzami. Płacisz i przychodzisz do nowoczesnej przychodni, gdzie lekarze są mili i uprzejmi. Nie liczcie że ktoś będzie mówił w języku innym niż rosyjski, dlatego polecam wybrać się na wizytę ze znajomym Rosjaninem który pomoże Wam zrozumieć medyczne detale.
Niestety nie byłam w stanie znaleźć prywatny szpital czy klinikę w Krasnojarsku.

Leave a Reply

