First days of a French guy in Krasnoïarsk

It is Saturday morning, I arrive at the airport. On the microphone, a speaker announces Krasnoyarsk. While the plane begins to lose altitude, I am feeling a mix between stress and excitation. The great moment approaches. Within a few minutes, maybe more, I will meet for the first time Aygul, who is going to welcome me during nine months. It was around five a.m. in Krasnoyarsk. Aygul and her mother were waiting for me. Thanks a lot to them for waking up so early to welcome me and bring me by car until the flat!

When we arrived in Aygul’s district, I was astonished to see free dogs running outside, near the buildings. They are not really dangerous, though it is preferable not to touch them.

Since my arrival to my first days in Interra, I have been very well welcomed. During the week-end, my mentor Tanya and my host took care for me and explained me all the practical details. Tanya even drew an extraordinary plan for me, mentioning Interra bus stop. In France, timetables indicate the hours at the bus stop. Not in Krasnoyarsk.

We took time to visit the city. I discovered local personalities such as the painter Sourikov or Pozdeev, and many places : the “Big Ben” of Krasnoyarsk (the main clock), the banks of the Ienisseï, the fountain of the rivers of Siberia, the island and its nice “sousliki”… I was struck by the wooden houses, which are really different from what we can see in France.

Of course, all those places were new for me. I had a simply glimpse of them on the Internet when I was in France because I wanted to be surprised by the town. When I was in France, I was particularly attracted by the landscape I watched on the video published on Interra’s website. As I had never travelled further than the borders of the European Union, Krasnoyarsk seemed to me to be the end of the world. It will be the centre of the world for me, for nine months.

tchekov1

Les premiers jours d’un Français à Krasnoyarsk

Samedi matin, j’arrive à l’aéroport. Au micro, une hôtesse annonce Krasnoïarsk. Alors que l’avion commence à perdre de l’altitude, le stress et d’excitation. Le grand moment approche : dans quelques minutes, ou peut-être plus, je ferai la connaissance d’Aygul, qui m’hébergera pendant les neuf mois que je passerai à Krasnoïarsk.

Il était dans les cinq heures du matin à Krasnoïarsk. Aygul et sa mère m’attendaient. Merci à elles de s’être levées si tôt pour m’accueillir et me conduire jusqu’à l’appartement !

En arrivant dans le quartier d’Aygul, j’ai été frappé de voir des chiens sans maître se balader entre les immeubles. Ils ne sont pas dangereux, mais mieux vaut éviter de les caresser.

Depuis mon arrivée à l’aéroport jusqu’à mes premiers jours à Interra, j’ai été très bien accueilli. Le week-end, ma « mentor » Tanya et mon hôte Aygul ont pris soin de moi et m’ont expliqué des détails pratiques. Tanya a même dessiné un plan mentionnant l’arrêt de bus près d’Interra. Un détail intéressant : les horaires ne sont pas affichées comme c’est le cas en France.

Pendant la visite de Krasnoïarsk, j’ai découvert des personnalités comme les peintres locaux Sourikov et Pozdeev, et plusieurs lieux : le « Big ben » de Krasnoïarsk (l’horloge principale), les rives du fleuve Ienisseï, la fontaine des sept rivières de Sibérie, l’île et ses adorables « sousliski », de petits animaux dont je ne connais pas le nom en français. maisons en bois, qui sont différentes de celles  que l’on peut voir en France.

Bien sûr, tous ces endroits étaient nouveaux pour moi. Avant mon départ, je m’étais contenté d’un simple aperçu de la ville sur Internet car je voulais qu’elle me surprenne. Quand j’étais en France, j’étais particulièrement attiré par les paysages que j’ai regardés sur la vidéo publiée sur le site d’Interra. Comme je n’ai jamais franchi les frontières de l’Union européenne, Krasnoïarsk me paraissait être le bout du monde. Pour moi, ce sera le centre du monde pendant neuf mois.

Post 1

Leave a Reply

